FACEBOOK
Reviews - 2012

Easy to move!

The following are customer reviews from independent internet sites that sell the Shademobile®. They have not been altered or changed in any way.

As the inventor, I am truly grateful to those who have taken valuable time out of their day to write.

Thank you so much.

David

Umbrella Base
View Video
Download Brochure
Made in the USA
 

2015 - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - Previous Reviews

3 out of 5 stars perhaps better for harder yard surfaces
By SoCal buyer on 12/17/2012

This umbrella stand was sturdy and may move easily on paved surfaces but did not move as easily on my decomposed granite walkways as I needed. I donated it to someone in my community and purchased two of a different type instead, which are serving my needs.

4 out of 5 stars Solid, just what I expected
By Lib Noskaj on 12/8/2012

Would have given it five stars but I have only used it for a Month so can't testify to its long term duribility. Seems to be well built and is as advertised.

5 out of 5 stars The best so i bought another
By Judy b on 11/21/2012

Great to see a product like this MADE IN USA i bought one last year and another this year.

5 out of 5 stars Dream umbrella hold/mover
By B. Smith on 10/20/2012

EASY shade when I want, where I want and at the angle I want. Holder that HOLDS what a concept! Love it!

5 out of 5 stars 5.0 out of 5 starsThe Shademobile rolling base is the BEST umbrella base!
By Jan on 9/29/2012

We live on the Atlantic coast in Maine where it is usually quite windy. We have bought two other bases for our ocean-front deck but they did not hold up. One kept losing the umbrella and the other one was impossible to move. The Shademobile base is everything they claim it to be. A dream to move over our deck, it locks easily in place and really stays put, it was no problem to fill with sand, and it looks good. It's well worth the money and Amazon sent it in a flash.

5 out of 5 stars Great umbrella stand
By RainCity on 9/5/2012

As a single woman, I was hesitant to buy a patio umbrella because of the thought of having to manage a heavy stand. This rolling stand was the perfect solution. It is well constructed, went together easily and rolls easily. I read that it is difficult to find the correct size bricks to fill it (12 are needed). I couldn't find them either, but I purchased slightly smaller red clay bricks at Lowes here in Washington state and 16 of them fit perfectly. My only regret is that I chose the sand color to blend with the color of my patio. It would look much better if the stand matched the dark brown umbrella pole.

5 out of 5 stars I wish I had thought of this ...
By zuggie on 8/24/2012

WOW. What a phenomenal product. Here's why:

1) it's made in the U.S.A.,

2) the instructions are written clearly and simply. Following each step yields success and ALL the parts are included,

3) assembly is easy ... 12 bricks, 16 screws (an extra one included) and a power screwdriver,

3) it works exactly as represented ... (there's a video on the shademobile.com website)

4) it's a quality product ... my sense is that lots of thought went into the design and use of materials,

5) we have a wood deck and our previous umbrella base scratched the wood when we moved it no matter how careful we were. This product glides across the deck smoothly.

I wish more products were made as well as this one.

5 out of 5 stars Excellent
By EJayne on 8/20/2012

This is the best product we have seen for a stand a lone Umbrella. It is sturdy and the best yet is that is made in the US. We ordered it on a Thursday afternoon and received it that Saturday. Put it together with no problems. Highly recommend this product. It definitely meets my standards and the standdrds of what I expect from Costco.

4 out of 5 stars Fairly compact; a little dicey to maneuver
By compulu on 8/18/2012

Got this as a way to be able to move my umbrella around to keep shade where it's wanted when the sun moves. It was fairly easy to assemble, and the base is compact enough that it stays out of the way.

My one beef is with the wheels. The front (non-locking) wheels swivel; the back (locking) wheels are fixed. So it's kind of like driving a car without the steering wheel. Since it weighs 85 pounds the way I filled it (it can go heaver), it's somewhat awkward. I would prefer to have all 4 wheels swivel.

We have not had more than a slight breeze since getting this, so I don't know how it will do if a breeze catches it, either with the umbrella up or down. I'm hoping not to find out what it does with the umbrella up, as I would guess even 85 pounds on the base is not going to be enough to keep it from going sailing or tipping over. (You're not supposed to let that happen anyway, per the instructions.)

5 out of 5 stars Finally a base that won't blow over.
By NeilM on 8/17/2012

This is a good solution to my wind problem. It's an expensive base but cheaper than a new umbrella every year.

5 out of 5 stars Shademobile
By William D. Unger on 8/13/2012

Works as advertised. So good that if you leave an umbrella open in a high wind, it is the umbrella that will likely sustain damage, not the base that will tip over, so close the umbrella in bad weather-I should have.

5 out of 5 stars 5.0 out of 5 stars Can't think of anything which might be an improvement
By JJM on 8/10/2012

14 months now with this base and nothing but praise for it. Went through at least three previous stands, each sequentially heavier. All were a pain to move with an umbrella - tilt and roll on edge, trying to get somewhere close to intended destination. None were a match for the Oklahoma wind so we went through as many umbrellas. Until the Shademobile. So stable that, shortly after purchasing it, we bought an 11' umbrella! And even with the oversize umbrella, it's not only mobile but can be moved easily! We now have adequate shade for our 6' patio table any time of day given our ability to easily move a large umbrella to meet demands changing with the seasons and daily trajectory of the sun.

Had one occassion to email customer service. With this company, that's not a misnomer. I had a reply to my initial question within a couple of hours, creating an expectation which was consistently met through subsequent correspondence. Not only fast but courteous and thorough.

I've never before written a review although I've been tempted - usually when a product doesn't meet it's hype and I've experienced a company's devotion to customer frustration. I'm pleased to be provided the impetus of a product and company that exceed my expectations.

5 out of 5 stars Shademobile® Rolling Umbrella Base Sand
By apacs1 on 8/3/2012

Excelllent product. Well made. Need a drill or electric screw driver to put it together because of 24 screws. Rolls easily.

5 out of 5 stars Great Base
By ThePug on 8/2/2012

The base came UPS, easy to fill with play sand and assemble. Very easy to roll. Works great!

5 out of 5 stars Awesome Product
By SbkAfk on 8/2/2012

I have had this about 2 weeks and it is great. Wish I had bought 2 of them.

5 out of 5 stars Love my Shademobile rolling umbrella base!
By E. Bernardino on 7/30/2012

The "storm de jour" of last week created gusts of wind topping 40-plus MPH; it yanked my new umbrella out of its stand and onto the ground (a four foot drop off the deck, mind you, and the umbrella was closed!). Although my umbrella survived, unscathed, my *imported* cast iron umbrella stand did not fair so well. Granted, I've had it a few years; it was slowly rusting away, so much so that the post section that holds the umbrella upright finally bent and gave way as a result of the storm.

Searching for something more solid, reliable and long-lasting, I discovered the *Made in USA* Shademobile...a rolling umbrella stand! I never particularly relished the thought of limiting the usage of my umbrella to the dining room table and always allowed it to "roam freely" by rolling the heavy round base on its edge to follow the sun, so this discovery suited me to a "T".

Set up of the Shademobile was easily, and with the help of an cordless screwdriver (HIGHLY suggested)and surplus bricks I already had, I was able to complete the process in about a half hour. My new rolling stand moves freely with a little guidance, courtesy of yours truly and four casters (two locking); the outdoor area rug is not the least bit of a challenge...I do believe this stand will endure many a future storm for many years to come (even if my umbrella should not).

***Important note: I believe the fact that you can add weight after you place the Shademobile in its desired location a tremendous asset. I am a female and would have had extreme difficultly attempting to move this stand from the front of my house (UPS drop off point), to the back of my house where my deck is if it was already weighted!

If you are someone who employs the "quality over quality" mantra as I do, I highly recommend the purchase of a Shademobile.

5 out of 5 stars Great Product
By Joseph S. Alhadeff on 7/29/2012

Great product. Easy to assemble, works great. Time will be the test. If you have a pretty flat surface, this is a great flexible way to go.

5 out of 5 stars Good Product
By M. Tawil on 7/25/2012

I purchased this from Amazon for $139.

The instructions were very clear and easy to follow. As suggested I used 12 bricks to fill the stand and provide weight. The assembly goes pretty quickly if you have a power screw driver. While the picture is not terribly clear on this, the umbrella is held in the stand tube by four screws. This works well.

The stand is quite sturdy and rolls about with a little effort, on our used brick patio. If you have a smooth surface it should be a breeze to move.

It is stable with a 9 foot umbrella even in our afternoon breeze.

I like this stand.

A year later, still like this stand.

5 out of 5 stars Shademobile
By Lynnanne on 7/19/2012

Absolutely fabulous. Ordered two and loved them so ordered two more. Worth every penny and work great. I am a small woman and can move them with ease. Hold umbrellas tight in heavy winds we get. we just used the sand and it works great. Well made and there is a note from the maker saying to contact him directly if any problems. Whoever came up with these identified a problem and solved it.

4 out of 5 stars Quality product
By FreddyK on 7/17/2012

This movable umbrella base was easy to assemble and to use. The directions were straight forward. No more lifting a heavy stand for me.

5 out of 5 stars Outstanding product
By SMLaker on 7/14/2012

So pleased with this product! Accurately described. Easy to assemble/prepare and use. High quality is evident throughout. Excellent value. Product literature and illustrated instructions among the best I've ever seen.

5 out of 5 stars Best Purchase Ever
By MeMe07 on 7/10/2012

After my umbrella and stand fell in the pool numerous times, the pool liner eventually developed a rust stain from the metal stand. I decided to give the Shademobile a try. I filled it up with brick and sand for the heaviest weight and have loved it ever since. It's mobile so it can be rolled to wherever I need it. There have been no umbrella tipping or falling into the pool incidents since using the Shademobile. I like it so much that I just ordered and received another one. I'm putting the sand and bricks in this weekend and a new umbrella. Awesome!

4 out of 5 stars Consider Fill Choices Carefully
By MissionFig on 7/10/2012

Assembly of the umbrella stand offered three choices: bricks, sand, or both. I chose both for stability as it creates the heaviest base. If I were to do it again, I'd use only bricks. The instructions were to use a brick size I could not find after going to three different home improvement centers. I purchased those that came closest in size. I wonder if brick sizes are like wood sizes--the size name doesn't match the tape measure. One 50 lb bag of play sand was enough for both stands in the brick/sand combo. As a petite female, I find rolling the stand around my uneven brick patio takes some concerted effort. Surface is a consideration when deciding which fill material to use. However, moving this stand is much less awkward than the traditional umbrella stand base. Worth the cost..

5 out of 5 stars Shademobile, Greta Product
By Norm on 7/8/2012

Just received 2 qty shademobiles. After shopping big box stores, seeing, buying and testing Chinese garbage, something that would hold our 9 and 11' foot umbrellas vertical with moderate(40MPH gusts MAX), we had just about given up. As an engineer, I was simply digusted. How hard could it be to design something functional? We heard from a friend about the Shademobile. I researched the product and found it not only heavier and more broad based than anything found in the big box stores, it had lockable wheels for mobility. I promptly ordered two.

When the units arrived I opened the box and was surpised to see, not just the quality of the components but the accurate, well-written, easy to understand, docuumentation. I opted to fill the base with both the bricks,(old pavers),and the play sand yielding approx 125LBS weight per unit. Although no stand will will go through a wind-driven thunder storm, with the umbrella open, I am now confident that the umbrellas will NOT fall in the pool or fall over on my wife when they are open and a sligh gust comes up.

A well used feature are the casters. Two of them are easily lockable, rendering the base immovable. As the sun moves across the sky. I am no longer having to either move our loungers or drag the concrete/metal bases around, I can just unlock the two casters, then easily adjust the umbrella position relative to the sun and our lounge chairs.

How refreshing to come across a design that actually works as promissed. Also makes me proud that it was made in America!!.

5 out of 5 stars REALLY nice
By Joey on 7/7/2012

The collar doesnot fit snugly around my umbrella pole, but it really is of no consequence. The stand is everything the supplier claimed. LOVE it.

Definitely have a good driver/drill or impact driver to assemble...no way would I want to use a standard issue screw driver with all the screws and the torque required to turn them! I used both sand and bricks and the unit is very stable.

5 out of 5 stars Very Easy to Move
By losingit on 6/27/2012

We bought 2 rolling base stands. This one and one in the warehouse that was less than half the cost. Now that we are using them, I with I had bought 2 of these. We filled ours with bricks and sand. It was easy to set up. To move it, you unlock it, easily slide it where you want, and relock. The other (cheaper) one moves, but it only goes in one direction, it doesn't move easily, and there is no locking feature. It is such a pain compared to this one. We have a large deck, and with this we can reposition the umbrella as the sun moves. The other one essentially has become stationary.

5 out of 5 stars Love it!
By Breb on 6/25/2012

We purchased this last month. Only used it a few times. It rolls great on our cedar deck and allows us to have shade when and where we need it. Just move it with the sun for all day protection. By far the best price on the interenet that I was able to find. Just this week we purchased our second one and plan to purchase another one in the future for our wrap-a-round deck with 3 umbrellas.

5 out of 5 stars Great Mobile Stand!
By Jim W. on 6/20/2012

This stand is great. I didn't want to just have the umbrella in the middle of our table. When the sun moves across the sky, I wanted to be able to stay in the shade. This stand makes that possible. It is really easy to use, even my mother who watches my baby during the day can move it all over the deck with no problems. Filling it up costs less than $5 at your local hardware store. The bricks and the playsand are really cheap. I love that they came out with a bronze colored base. Matches my pole perfectly. I was waiting for my umbrella to arrive before I bought the Shademobile, and while waiting they added the bronze color.

I have had only one tip over of the umbrella, and that was when the umbrella was tilted. So, be careful of wind if you tilt your umbrella. I filled the base to the max based on it's instructions. But a tilted 9 foot umbrella can produce a lot of force.

I would recommend this to anyone.

5 out of 5 stars Excellent rolling umbrella stand
By H. C. Weiss III on 6/20/2012

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about the assembly process. I chose the sand only option to add weight to the base and the worse part was just pouring the 50 lb bags of play sand into the inverted top of the stand...really no problem. After that I used my Dewalt drill driver to install the screws and I was finished with the entire assembly in less than 20 minutes. I have a 13' vented market umbrella in the stand and it seems to be enough weight to keep it stable in moderate wind (15 mph or less)...definitely need to lower or remove the umbrella in stormy conditions. I love the mobility of the stand and is very easy to move around the pool deck. My only concern about using the stand here on the Mississippi gulf coast is that the hardware included with the stand is not stainless and may rust with the salt spray conditions we have here. I'm a HUGE Amazon prime fan and I ordered this item from Amazon without checking pricing at other online sites. I'm ordering a second stand from Costco's online site....price is $30 less delivered. This stand is probably best used with 9-11 foot umbrellas....I just had a extra 13' available and I will be careful not to leave the umbrella up when I am away from the pool.

5 out of 5 stars 5.0 out of 5 starsBest Stand EVER
By Mike on 6/15/2012

This is the most amazing stand. I purchased 2, got them set up and loved them so much I purchased another one. The only issue is adding the bricks and sand, but not too bad. After that, these are great. Ours is on concrete and rolls like a dream. Our neighbor who has a very bad back can even roll it without any strain.
LOVE THEM.

4 out of 5 stars Serves it's purpose
By Jan on 6/12/2012

What I like most about this umbrella stand is that it is on wheels. What I like least is the weight that needs to be added. The instructions for adding bricks and/ or sand are clear and it didn't take much time to put the whole thing together. I just don't happen to have a dozen old bricks sitting around. It comes with enough parts to make it adaptable to many umbrella sizes and I like the color and appearance as well. Better looking than many other stands that are weighted. The perfect product would be something like this that I can fill with water for weight, then empty it at the end of the season so it is lighter to move into storage. I will not be taking out 20 screws and emptying the bricks and sand out every year.

5 out of 5 stars Best Purchase Ever
By Anonymous on 6/3/2012

The umbrella stand was very easy to put together. We used the heaviest combination of bricks and sand. I live in a canyon. After completing all the instructions, the stand moved with little effort. Roll it wherever you wish. Good for sun blocking throughout the day. Just 12 bricks and 1 bag of leveler sand. My son and daughter-in-law did a great job.

5 out of 5 stars High-quality product
By Artist Mama on 5/30/2012

Just purchased this product. It is high-quality, you can see that it's not made in China. Works really well with my big umbrella and even rolls easily on pebble aggregate floor.

5 out of 5 stars Love this umbrella base!!
By Caleb's Granny on 5/25/2012

I can't praise this stand highly enough! I'm a 56 year old woman and I put most of it together by myself. I used the brick and sand method. I found the bricks for 38 cents a piece at our local Lowe's store. The instructions and pictures were very easy to understand and follow. There are a total of 24 screws for this stand and I let my husband put those in, only because I never used a power screwdriver before. I have no problem moving it around on our concrete patio and it holds up our umbrella just fine! I love this product! Thanks for making it and offering it on Amazon.

5 out of 5 stars High Quality product
By ElliotAZ on 5/12/2012

While a bit on the pricey side this product is very well designed, engineered and manufactured. Everything fits together perfectly. It's made in the USA, the instructions are only in english (yes!), they are clear, concise, and understandable. Works like a charm!

5 out of 5 stars best umbrella base i've ever had
By Ms. Reader on 5/5/2012

i bought a 2" umbrella last summer and it wouldn't fit in any of my patio tables or umbrella bases so i went searching for an umbella base slightly larger than 2" to accommodate it. took me a year. i had to buy a new patio set also but that is another story. i hesitated to buy this base because of the price. i thought that was quite expensive but i finally just did it and i am glad i did. i got the bronze color and it looks beautiful with my patio set. instead of bricks or sand, i used an extra bag of landscape rocks i had left over from another project and they worked perfectly and no fitting problems. now you are going to need a power screwdriver because there are lots of screws to hold it together but it is solid and the wheels make moving it around very easy. it also adjusts to several sized umbrellas and it is easy to adjust. all in all, i'm very happy with the shademobile base. yes, it was pricey but it is a "forever" umbrella stand that i'll hand down to my kids.

5 out of 5 stars Really Spectacular
By MoveIT on 4/17/2012

This product is really nice, and simple to put together. I used 15 - 8 cent bricks to anchor the inside.

The thing rolls around fairly easily and can really hold against the wind.

Alhtough, its only been a month, I am quite happy and confident it will stay the course.

5 out of 5 stars Shademobile is the best product
By Clare on 4/13/2012

This is a great product and it was easy to put together. It glides across my patio and I can move it to follow the sun. This was worth the money and it has made sitting outside much more comfortable.

5 out of 5 stars BEST stand ever
By wildanimalpark on 4/8/2012

I was tired of heavy stands that could not be moved, broke, fell over, and rusted. This stand solves my problems and I bought 12. We used bricks for weight and put each stand together in less than 10 minutes each. The stand rolls with ONE hand and has not blown over with our 11' umbrellas in strong coastal winds. Perfect!

5 out of 5 stars Great Base for Large Umbrella
By Rode571 on 4/4/2012

This umbrella stand is awesome. My wife bought a huge umbrella at Costco, we tried some other plastic bases, they couldn't even hold it up in no wind. This stand with the bricks and sand is perfect and it still rolls easily on our pavers around the pool. It must be at least 100 lbs. Great design, very well engineered with high quality sturdy material.

5 out of 5 stars Great rolling Umbrella Base
By Paddyo on 3/28/2012

I have a huge cantelever umbrella that has a much bigger than average pole. I was worried it would be too big, but it fit perfect. I filled the base with bricks and sand as the instructions stated. It is very sturdy, but still easy to move around the pool. Not cheap, but worth the money if having shade is important to you.

5 out of 5 stars Awesome Purchase
By Desertpixie on 3/20/2012

I love this umbrella stand, which easily and conveniently can be moved to suit my needs.

5 out of 5 stars Worth it, I think so
By Gimp on 3/14/2012

It survived the Santa Ana wind last week with flying colors.

5 out of 5 stars Everything I could have expected and more
By CostcoFan999 on 3/14/2012

I bought a new 11' Market Umbrella, with tilt, from Costco. I wanted a base that would hold this big umbrella, with its 2" wooden pole, that I could easily move around while looking attractive. I looked everywhere but found nothing I liked until I saw a listing on Costco.com for the Shademobile. I was a bit reluctant because of a couple of reviews; one said it wouldn't hold a 2" pole and the other said that ballast sand leaked out. All I can say now is these guys can't follow simple directions because both statements are ludicrous. Actually it will fit up to 2 ¼” poles and there is no way sand will leak if properly done. I went with the heaviest option for adding ballast weight by inserting 12 bricks and some sand. The Shademobile is a dessert sand color which matches the umbrella fabric nicely. I was very pleased to find a note inside the box from the inventor/manufacturer of the Shademobile with his phone number and email address. And here is the clincher for me, it is made in America and even packed in an American made box.

5 out of 5 stars Great for bad backs, SUPER convenient
By needmycostcofix on 3/6/2012

The convenience of moving around a base is fabulous. My dog loves it also.

5 out of 5 stars very innovative product
By susyrn on 3/3/2012

we had another stand that was granite and very heavy. so heavy that we could not move it. This stand moves around easily and we can adjust it according to the location of the sun for perfect shade. We used clay bricks to weight it and the instructions are very specific and easy to follow for weighting it. It was very east to assemble also.

5 out of 5 stars Excellent Umbrella Base
By Madre on 2/23/2012

I bought this product based on the great reviews on Costco.com and I was not disappointed. We live in a windy area and for the first time we don't have to worry about remembering to put the umbrella down every night. We were so happy with this product we ordered another one. This product looks good and works great. It is easy to fill with bricks and sand. Highly recommended.

4 out of 5 stars Easily assembled
By monty123 on 2/9/2012

Came with concise instructions to assemble and I completed in less than ten minutes once I had assembled all the components, ie; bricks and sand. Highly recommend use of power drill.

5 out of 5 stars It works as advertised
By RogelioB on 2/2/2012

We use this base on our slate tiled patio and it rolls easily; seems strong enough to stand a moderate wind (we used bricks rather than sand) and so far, so good.

5 out of 5 stars Survived Hurricane Irene!
By arctan on 1/18/2012

This is a well-engineered product.

Assembly was straightforward (with a cordless drill/driver recommended, given the large number of screws), and standard bricks fit beautifully as laid out. A standard 9-foot tilting market umbrella fits perfectly.

Unlock the wheels, and it rolls easily. Lock the wheels, and it is very stable. Hurricane Irene came through last night and blew a huge old tree down two doors down from us, but the umbrella in this stand didn't budge.

5 out of 5 stars GREAT STAND
By albqkid on 1/6/2012

Great stand, beats any other I have had. Extreme stability. Good looking. Heavy after following directions for filling base. Another idea for filling base is 1/4 inch gravel rather than sand/brick or both. Expensive but you'll never need another base.

 
We are looking for qualified dealers/distributors worldwide including Canada, Europe,
Middle East, South America, Australia, New Zealand and Asia. Please contact us.